Enya Releases New Album – Dark Sky Island

Enya Dark Sky Island

Enya has announced details of a new album, Dark Sky Island, which is set to be released on 20 November.

This album has a theme of journeys, states Enya. Journeys to the island; through the length of a lifetime; through history, through emotions; and journeys across great oceans. So although it’s not a ‘themed’ album, as such, we nevertheless have an underlying connection between songs.

Enya, producer and sound engineer Nicky Ryan, and lyricist Roma Ryan started work on the album in 2012. Dark Sky Island is inspired by Roma’s work on a series of poetry books themed around islands and specifically the island of Sark’s decision to be designated as a dark sky island.

‘Echoes in Rain’ was the first song to be written and is the album’s lead single.

Dark Sky Island tracklisting:

  1. The Humming
  2. So I Could Find My Way
  3. Even in the Shadows
  4. The Forge of the Angels
  5. Echoes in Rain
  6. I Could Never Say Goodbye
  7. Dark Sky Island
  8. Sancta Maria
  9. Astra et Luna
  10. The Loxian Gates
  11. Diamonds on the Water

Dark Sky Island is now available to pre-order on CD and digital download formats.


Lucy Ivan

comments to this article