Neil Young at RDS – Review

neil-youngNeil Young & Crazy Horse – RDS – Saturday, Jun 15th 2013

Neil Young and Crazy Horses played the RDS on Saturday amidst hot debate between serious Crazy Horse fans and Harvest Moon enthusiasts. Twittersphere has since erupted with conflicting commentary for example: “Some hilarious comments from people about the Neil Young gig, he can do as he likes. He’s not Damien Hirst, he’s a real artist.”

The event began with “Little Green Cars” a wonderful folk quintet hailing from Dublin well known for “The John Wayne” song, they were followed by Grammy Award–winners “Los Lobos” an American Chicano rock band from LA. After which “The Waterboys” spoiled the crowd with their well known hits “The Hole of The Moon” and “A Girl Called Johnny” – leaving the crowd with high expectations.  Setting the tone for the night, however bringing on the ‘water works’ the rain lashed down on fans as they rushed for shelter and decent viewing points.

Taking to the stage, with a brief hello they got straight down to business with Ragged Glories “Love and Only Love”. Neil Young and Crazy Horse are – Billy Talbot on bass, Neil Young (clad in black still waving those trade mark locks) and Frank Sampredo both on guitar, along with drummer Ralph Molina. With no tv screens or bells and whistles, only  an extra high stage – this concert was going to be old school whether we liked it or not.

Moving on with marathon like performances of “Powderfinger”, this was followed by the awesome and warped “Psychedelic Pill”. “Walk Like a Giant” went on and on for 20 minutes with riffs so high and low, they almost spanned life times – absolutely beautiful guitar work.  Followed by “Hole in the Sky” they played non-stop, pitch perfect vocals and their souring, souring guitar solos were simply epic.

At one point, intentional guitar interference went on for close to ten minutes, this was to be expected by fans, but unwelcome by the enthusiasts, showing their frustration by hissing and booing. Perhaps the enthusiasts should have done their homework before paying big money for the gig. Momentarily they were pleased with a rendition of “Blowing in the Wind” by Bob Dylan. After this Crazy Horse resumed more epic guitar playing glory on “Ramada Inn”, we loved “Cinnamon Girl” rock on, rock on and  “F’in Up”. They were relentless; heads bowed and showing no sign of stopping any time soon.

It was the most splendid showcase of guitar man-ship seen in years. Comfortable together, they played tight and close like a bedroom jam session on stage, but with no crowd interaction. Ending on “Cortez the killer” – Crazy Horse regrouped, hugged, bowed, Ralph Molina flung his drum sticks at the audience as the wind and the rain whirled around the stadium they exited the stage.

No goodbyes…just rock and roll.

Enthusiasts left raging, actual fans were over the harvest moon.

Set list for the RDS session is below:

  1. Love And Only Love
  2. Powderfinger
  3. Psychedelic Pill
  4. Walk Like A Giant
  5. Hole In The Sky
  6. Comes A Time
  7. Blowin’ In The Wind
  8. Ramada Inn
  9. Cinnamon Girl
  10. F*!#in’ Up
  11. Mr. Soul
  12. Hey Hey, My My (Into The Black)
  13. Cortez The Killer

Review by Áine Byrne


Lucy Ivan

comments to this article